Disability claims are something that most war veterans forget about. Numerous benefits are available to them through Social Security as well as those that are offered to them by the

Department of Veterans Affair.

The ones that are eligible for this are those who became disabled while being on active military service after or on October 1st, 2001. The type of disability, in this case, doesn’t matter.

In this article, we look at the types of benefits that disabled war veterans can receive in the US.


Social security benefits


The two programs offered by Social Security for the disabled are the Social Security disability insurance and the Supplemental Security Income (SSI). The former lets you have benefits if you or members of your family have a history of paying your taxes on time. The latter pays you financially.

In order to be recognized as disabled by Social Security, the person must be

Unable to perform tasks of substantial value with respect to their medical condition.

Suffering from a condition for at least a year.

There are other organizations and programs that provide for people who suffer from short-term or even partial disabilities.

social security

Application for said benefits


Benefits of being disabled can be asked for by applying for it irrespective of whether you are undergoing treatment, rehabilitation, or even if you are discharged. You can apply online, via telephone, in person or by visiting the nearest Social Security office.

There are certain documents that you need in order to apply for the benefits such as documentation of age, information about the disability, citizenship proof and also employment details. Social Security employees will also help you gather the appropriate information that is required provided that it is of the medical kind.

You also need to apply as soon as possible even if you do not have all the necessary documents.

Are there benefits that the family can get?


Family members that are related to the disabled person are also entitled to a number of benefits, but not everyone can enjoy these. Family members such as

  • A spouse who is 62 or older


  • A spouse who is giving care to a child that is 16 years or younger


  • Children, those adopted also included, that are unmarried. Some cases also include stepchildren or even grandchildren but said child must be 18 years or younger.


  • Children who are 18 years or older that suffers from a disability which was diagnosed before the age of 22.


Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *